The 2024 BC Pharmacy Excellence Awards Now In-Person After 5 Years!

February 1, 2024

Do you know a colleague who regularly goes above and beyond? Perhaps someone in your pharmacy is a fearless leader and a constant source of mentorship for those newer to the practice?

They deserve to be recognized.

Celebrate with us at our in-person Awards Gala & Dinner, which will be held at the Hyatt Regency, Vancouver on May 31, 2024.

Here is what you should know about the 2024 BC Pharmacy Excellence Awards:

1. Nominations are now open.

You have until March 31, 2024 to submit your nomination. Nomination packages can be completed online. This year, we've simplified the process by incorporating all necessary information into a single form. In case you encounter any challenges while submitting the form, please send your nomination via email to

*Please note that only BCPhA members are eligible to win an award.

2. Recipients of an award should be prepared to make themselves available to be photographed and interviewed on video, and are expected to attend the in-person event to receive the award.

3. Anyone can submit a nomination, whether you’re a fellow pharmacist, student, colleague, patient or community member.

You can nominate someone as long as they are a pharmacist and a member of the BC Pharmacy Association, except in the case of the Friend of Pharmacy Award, in which the individual does not have to be a member of the Association and must not be a practicing pharmacist.

4. A single nomination package for the awards will qualify the nominee for eight different awards.

• Excellence in Patient Care Award: This award is presented to a pharmacist who has demonstrated ongoing excellence in patient care in their professional practice.

• Ben Gant Innovative Practice Award: This award is presented to a pharmacist who has demonstrated significant innovation in their respective practice and/or the profession.

• Murray Dykeman Mentorship Award: This award recognizes a pharmacist who has demonstrated outstanding mentorship to those early in their pharmacy career.

• Pharmacy Leadership Award: This award recognizes a pharmacist who has demonstrated commitment to leading the profession and its people forward and has made significant contributions to the profession of pharmacy.

• Collaborative Care Award: This award recognizes a pharmacist who has worked to create strong collaboration with other health-care providers. In doing so, they have promoted the value of pharmacists and have successfully advocated for the role of pharmacists in the primary health-care team.

• New Practitioner Award: This award recognizes a pharmacist within their first five years of practice. The nominee has demonstrated impact and commitment to the pharmacy profession by advancing their practice.

• Bowl of Hygeia Award: A pharmacist with an outstanding record of public and community service.

• Friend of Pharmacy Award: A non-pharmacist who has worked with and promoted the value and role of pharmacists within the health-care team.

5. Do you need inspiration for which pharmacists to nominate?

• To learn more about the awards and past winners, please visit

• Check out videos on our YouTube page here

6.Got a question on the process?

• Check out our Pharmacy Excellence Awards page or contact Learn more about the different nomination categories and start your nomination today!

Nomination Package